• Georgia House Representative Morris Elected to State Transportation Board 12th Congressional District Vacancy


    Please do not reply to NewsReleases@dot.ga.gov
    View this email in your browser
    For Immediate Release:
    Thursday, April 1, 2021
    Georgia House Representative Morris Elected to State Transportation Board 12th Congressional District Vacancy
    ATLANTA, GA – Rep. Greg Morris, a Vidalia, Ga. native who is currently representing the
    156th district in the Georgia House of Representatives, was elected as the new State Transportation Board member to represent the 12th Congress
    ional District. Morris will take his seat on the State Transportation Board at the conclusion of the current legislative session.

    The district includes counties in east central and east southern Georgia and is comprised of Appling, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Coffee, Columbia, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Laurens, Montgomery, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen and, Wheeler counties. It also includes parts of Columbia, and Effingham counties.

    As graduate of University of Georgia with a degree in Political Science, Morris served his native county for three years as a Toombs County commissioner. He was first elected to the Georgia State House of Representatives in 1998. Presently, he is serving as chairman of the Banks and Banking Committee, as well as a member on the Appropriations, Code Revision, Natural Resources and Environment, and Rules committees. Serving as the spokesman under the Gold Dome for House District 156, he represents the communities in parts of Appling, Jeff Davis, Montgomery and Toombs counties.
    He and his wife Amy have two sons, Andrew and Jonathan.

    Georgia DOT is governed by a 14-member State Transportation Board which exercises general control and supervision of the Department. The Board is entrusted with powers which include, but are not limited to: naming the Commissioner; designating which public roads are encompassed within the state highway system; approving long-range transportation plans; overseeing the administration of construction contracts; and authorizing lease agreements. Board Members are elected by a majority of a General Assembly caucus from each of Georgia’s fourteen congressional districts. Each board member serves a five-year term. 
    Follow Us Follow Us
    Like Us Like Us
    Visit Us Visit Us
    See Us See Us
    Watch US Watch US
    The information you provide to the Georgia Department of Transportation will be used solely by GDOT. The Department does not sell or offer a subscriber's personal information to third parties for marketing purposes. To no longer receive this e-news letter, please select "unsubscribe from this list" below.
    For questions, contact Strategic Communications.
    Copyright © 2021 Georgia Department of Transportation, All rights reserved.

    Our mailing address is:
    Georgia Department of Transportation
    Office of Communications
    600 West Peachtree Street N.W.
    Atlanta, GA 30308

    Want to change how you receive these emails?
    You can unsubscribe from this list